You are here

The Marriage Pact

Wednesday

September 13

Michelle Richmond

 

The Marriage Pact

 

How far is too far when it comes to protecting your marriage? Find out in this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense for anyone who loved The Couple Next Door.

"Ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say 'I do.'"--Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Switch

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice's prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples.

And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule.

For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Michelle Richmond is the bestselling author of The Year of Fog, No One You Know, Hum: Stories, Golden State, Dream of the Blue Room, and the award-winning The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress. A native of Mobile, Alabama, she lives with her husband and son in San Francisco.

Check out Michelle's website here for more information about her and The Marriage Pact!

 

Advance Praise For "The Marriage Pact"

"Riveting psychological suspense! This book will keep you up all night, while making you second-guess everything you know and everyone you've ever loved." --Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You

"A truly chilling thriller . . . It ranks with The Stepford Wives and Gone Girl as a terrifying look at what it really means to say 'I do.' "--Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of Guilty Minds

"The Marriage Pact is a tense, twisting, quirky novel of growing dread--and a love story with a richly imagined relationship between a wife and husband. Michelle Richmond looks with a gimlet eye at our therapy-obsessed culture and wonders if the experts who claim to have all the cures might themselves need therapy. Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible." --Dean Koontz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Corner

"Michelle Richmond is, simply put, a great storyteller. And The Marriage Pact, without gimmicks or tricks, is a twisting, suspenseful, keep-you-up-all-night thriller. But it's more than that, too. It's a deep, insightful, nearly voyeuristic view into modern marriage--what brings us together, what keeps us together, what tears us apart. A smart, engrossing, scary read!" --Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter

"With a brilliant premise for a novel of psychological suspense, taut plotting, and deft writing, The Marriage Pact shows in gripping detail just what could go wrong when we try too hard to protect the love we cherish most." --J. P. Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

"Clever and original--as smart as it is scary." --Gin Phillips, author of Fierce Kingdom

"This sometimes disturbing, always thought-provoking stunner of a novel will keep you reading far too late into the night." --Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter

"Every page of The Marriage Pact hummed with suspense. A daringly original novel about the best and worst of love--startling revelation after revelation kept me turning pages quickly, but Richmond's gorgeous prose made me want to linger." --Carla Buckley, author of The Deepest Secret

The Marriage Pact is a terrifying thriller that distills modern marriage down to its confusing core. While the events of the novel are extraordinary, the questions that it asks about relationships are universal." --Nina Sadowsky, author of Just Fall

"First-class suspense! You won't be able to turn the pages fast enough." --Paula Daly, author of Just What Kind of Mother Are You?

"This fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions. . . . It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Creepy and engrossing . . . [ The Marriage Pact takes] readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions." --Booklist

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
80 West Portal Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94127
The Marriage Pact Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780385343299
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - July 25th, 2017