You are here

New Winter Hours

What Goes On: Selected and New Poems 1995-2009 (Paperback)

What Goes On: Selected and New Poems 1995-2009 Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Spring 2009 Poetry List

“This is a perfect introduction to Pulitzer Prize winner Dunn, as the many dog-eared pages of my volume will attest. Dunn addresses issues large and small, though mostly large: love; death; divinity; morality; responsibility. Words are perfectly chosen, and so many poems deserve to be read out loud, and often. From What Men Want, Dunn concludes 'I've always needed paper and pencil/in order to speak as little as I should./After the power to choose/a man wants the power to erase.'”
— Leslie, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL


Brilliant new poems and an expansive gathering from six collections by a Pulitzer Prize winner celebrated as “indispensable.”

What Goes On displays the evolving style and sensibility of a major award-winning poet, and a traceable growth that has blossomed into a provocative confrontation with questions of consciousness and existence. Stephen Dunn’s poems probe life’s big questions without ever losing sight of the significance of the mundane.

About the Author

Stephen Dunn is the author of nineteen poetry collections, including the Pulitzer Prize–winning Different Hours, and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the recipient of an Academy Award for Literature. His poems have appeared in The New Yorker, Atlantic, and American Poetry Review, among many other publications. A distinguished professor emeritus at Richard Stockton University, he lives in Frostburg, Maryland.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780393338553
ISBN-10: 039333855X
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: July 5th, 2010
Pages: 192
Language: English