Excursion-Pa (Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women) (Paperback)

Excursion-Pa (Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women) By Frances Brooke, Paula R. Backscheider (Editor), Hope D. Cotton (Editor) Cover Image
$32.50
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


" Written for the audience it portrays, The Excursion introduces the heroine, Maria Villiers, to London's ""gentle"" society and its glittering pastimes. For her novel's overarching plot structure, Brooke drew upon the English courtship novel in the tradition of Eliza Haywood, Henry Fielding, and Frances Burney. But instead of concentrating on Maria's romantic adventures, she experiments with unusual treatments of subplots and unconventional characters. This is one of the few portraits of a woma.

About the Author


Paula R. Backsheider is Pepperell-Philpott Eminent Scholar in English at Auburn University and the author of numerous books, including Spectacular Politics: Theatrical Power and Mass Culture in Early Modern England.Hope D. Cotton is a doctoral student in English at Auburn University.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780813108810
ISBN-10: 0813108810
Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
Publication Date: December 12th, 1996
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women