The Wife Upstairs: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Wife Upstairs: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

About the Author


RACHEL HAWKINS is the New York Times bestselling author of multiple books for young readers, and her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama. The Wife Upstairs is her first adult novel.

Praise For…


Praise for THE WIFE UPSTAIRS:

One of the "Best New Books Coming Out in 2021" - PopSugar
One of the "Most Anticipated Thrillers of 2021" - She Reads
One of "The Best and Most Anticipated Thrillers of the Year" - Mystery and Suspense Magazine
One of the "Most Anticipated Books of 2021" - CrimeReads

"...this suspenseful domestic thriller will keep readers turning pages." —Publishers Weekly

The Wife Upstairs is everything I’d hoped—sharp, smart, tricky and fast-paced. Rachel Hawkins’ debut thriller puts you in the steps of an outsider, an insider, and an imposter, but which is which? You won’t know til you’re up way too late turning the final pages." —Kelly Harms, nationally bestselling author of The Overdue Life of Amy Byler

"Rachel Hawkins delivers a sharp, fresh twist on a classic in this darkly funny, suspenseful story of murder, ambition, and love. Creepy and fast-paced, The Wife Upstairs kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page to the very last." —Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author

“I was completely blown away by The Wife Upstairs. This is a compulsive, irresistible retelling of Jane Eyre with a modern, noir twist – and wow, does it work. Get this one on your 2021 list.” —Samantha Downing, USA Today bestselling author of My Lovely Wife and He Started It


Praise for Rachel Hawkins:

"Ace plotting, snappy dialogue, unexpected twists, and an exhilarating finale will have readers eager for more." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Hawkins' characterizations shine as original and funny." —Kirkus, starred review

"Signature wit punctuates the action, balancing snappy satire with edgy suspense" —Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250245496
ISBN-10: 1250245494
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 5th, 2021
Pages: 304