May Book Club 2024

Register here for our May Book Club!

May 5th, 2024 at 10am

 

This Month's Book Club Pick:

 

Eastbound

by Maylis de Karangal

Summary:

In this gripping tale, a Russian conscript and a French woman cross paths on the Trans-Siberian railroad, each fleeing to the east for their own reasons 

Perfect for fans of Maggie Shipstead's Great Circle and The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles

Eastbound is both an adventure story and a duet of two vibrant inner worlds. 

In mysterious, winding sentences gorgeously translated by Jessica Moore, De Kerangal gives us the story of two unlikely souls entwined in a quest for freedom with a striking sense of tenderness, sharply contrasting the brutality of the surrounding world. 

Racing toward Vladivostok, we meet the young Aliocha, packed onto a Trans-Siberian train with other Russian conscripts. Soon after boarding, he decides to desert and over a midnight smoke in a dark corridor of the train, he encounters an older French woman, Hélène, for whom he feels an uncanny trust. 

A complicity quickly grows between the two when he manages to urgently ask--through a pantomime and basic Russian that Hélène must decipher--for her help to hide him. They hurry from the filth of his third-class carriage to Hélène's first-class sleeping car. Aliocha now a hunted deserter and Hélène his accomplice with her own inner landscape of recent memories to contend with.

Event date: 
Sunday, May 5, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:30am
Books: 
Eastbound By Maylis De Kerangal, Jessica Moore (Translated by) Cover Image
By Maylis De Kerangal, Jessica Moore (Translated by)
$18.00
We're sorry, this book is unavailable from our distributor.
ISBN: 9781953861504
Published: Archipelago - February 7th, 2023