Virtual Event - Jacqueline Winspear In Conversation with Cara Black

TUESDAY, APRIL 6th AT 6 PM

Jacqueline Winspear

The Consequences of Fear: A Maise Dobbs Novel

In conversation with Cara Black

 

 

On Thursday, April 6th at 6 PM, we are pleased to welcome back Jacqueline Winspear for her sixteenth installment in her Maise Dobbs series, The Consequences of Fear. As Europe buckles under Nazi occupation, Maisie Dobbs investigates a possible murder that threatens devastating repercussions for Britain's war efforts in this latest installment in the New York Times bestselling mystery series. When Maisie becomes entangled in a power struggle between Britain's intelligence efforts in France and the work of Free French agents operating across Europe, she must also contend with the lingering question of Freddie Hackett's state of mind. What she uncovers could hold disastrous consequences for all involved in this compelling chapter of the "series that seems to get better with every entry" (Wall Street Journal). Please join us Thursday, April 6th at 6 PM for another wonderful event with the one and only Jacqueline Winspear. 

We are pleased to announce Cara Black, author of Three Hours in Paris and the beloved Aimee Leduc series, will be joining Jacqueline Winspear in conversation!

PLEASE RSVP AND FIND LINK TO THE EVENT ON CROWDCAST HERE.

 

 


 

Information about CrowdCast:

This event will be held on CrowdCast. If you have never used CrowdCast before, you will be asked to sign in with your email and be sent a link to the event. Please allow time for the sign-in process prior to the start time of the event. Crowdcast works best with the browsers Chome and Firefox. We strongly recommended downloading either to make your viewing experience the best possible. Don’t worry, there is no need to get out of your pajamas or put away that glass of wine because all audience participation will take place on the built-in Q&A forum. No front camera required! If you have any questions, concerns, or problems, please send an email to info@bookshopwestportal.com.


About:

As Europe buckles under Nazi occupation, Maisie Dobbs investigates a possible murder that threatens devastating repercussions for Britain's war efforts in this latest installment in the New York Times bestselling mystery series.

October 1941. While on a delivery, young Freddie Hackett, a message runner for a government office, witnesses an argument that ends in murder. Crouching in the doorway of a bombed-out house, Freddie waits until the coast is clear. But when he arrives at the delivery address, he's shocked to come face to face with the killer.

Dismissed by the police when he attempts to report the crime, Freddie goes in search of a woman he once met when delivering a message: Maisie Dobbs. While Maisie believes the boy and wants to help, she must maintain extreme caution: she's working secretly for the Special Operations Executive, assessing candidates for crucial work with the French resistance. Her two worlds collide when she spots the killer in a place she least expects. She soon realizes she's been pulled into the orbit of a man who has his own reasons to kill--reasons that go back to the last war.

As Maisie becomes entangled in a power struggle between Britain's intelligence efforts in France and the work of Free French agents operating across Europe, she must also contend with the lingering question of Freddie Hackett's state of mind. What she uncovers could hold disastrous consequences for all involved in this compelling chapter of the "series that seems to get better with every entry" (Wall Street Journal).


About the Author:

Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maisie Dobbs series, which includes In This Grave Hour, Journey to MunichA Dangerous PlaceLeaving Everything Most LovedElegy for Eddie, and eight other novels. Her standalone novel, The Care and Management of Lies, was also a New York Times bestseller and a Dayton Literary Peace Prize finalist. Originally from the United Kingdom, she now lives in California.


Praise For:

“Over 16 novels spanning three decades, Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs has lived. In real life, her quiet bravery, compassion and dogged pursuit of the truth would have made her one of the Greatest Generation, a lesson in survival under the grimmest circumstances. The lessons are hard-won in The Consequences of Fear, set in the fall of 1941 but no less relevant today…. Fans and newcomers to the series will root for Dobbs and the other well-drawn characters.”— Los Angeles Times

“Outstanding…. Maisie and her loving family of supporting characters continue to evolve and grow in ways sure to win readers’ hearts. Winspear is writing at the top of her game.”— Publishers Weekly, starred review 

“Fast-paced… Winspear never sugarcoats the horrors of war, and alongside the camaraderie shown by these characters and the Londoners surrounding them deliver terrible truths that must be endured…. also recommend it as a less- weighty read-alike for Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See.”— Booklist, starred review

Event date: 
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
The Consequences of Fear: A Maisie Dobbs Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062868022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - March 23rd, 2021

Three Hours in Paris Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641292580
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - March 30th, 2021