Katerina Thu, 11/12/2020 - 4:16pm
SKU: 9781087500881

Inside message: Season’s Greetings

Twenty assorted 5 x 7 in. holiday cards (5 each of 4 designs) with envelopes in a decorative box. Printed on recycled paper.

Contains five each of the following holiday cards: Lawren S. Harris, Snow, Rocky Mountains, c. 1925 A.Y. Jackson, Road to Baie St. Paul, 1933 Frank Johnston, Untitled, n.d. Tom Thompson, Snow Shadows, 1916

Schooled in French impressionism and filled with national pride, a small community of artists came together in 1920 to form the Group of Seven, whose objective was to produce distinctly Canadian imagery. The impetus for this association was Lawren S. Harris (1885–1970), who firmly believed in the need for a national art movement. When the Group organized, a spiritual eighth member was present: Tom Thomson (1877–1917), the artist and outdoorsman around whom the others had originally gathered before his untimely death. Through their spectacular paintings and adventurous spirit, these celebrated artists have shaped Canadian art and identity.

List price: $0.00
Boxed Cards Type: 
Boxed Holiday Cards
Price: $16.95